Tuesday, January 4, 2011

PRINT AND SAVE: Veterans’ Affairs Key Legislators for 2011-12

The new Wisconsin state legislature has a markedly different makeup than the last one.

Written by Anthony Hardie, DAV-Wisconsin

(davwi.blogspot.com) - In 2009-10, Democrats controlled the Wisconsin Governor’s office and both houses of the legislature.  The Red tidal wave that hit the country last November 2nd hit Wisconsin perhaps the hardest, with Republicans now controlling the Governor’s office and both chambers of the Legislature by wide majorities.

In the upper house, the Wisconsin State Senate is controlled by 19 Republicans to 14 Democrats, a strong majority in the 33-member chamber.

In the lower house, the 99-member Wisconsin State Assembly is controlled by an even larger majority of Republicans, with 60 Republicans to 38 Democrats.  And, there is one Independent, Rep. Bob Ziegelbauer (I-Manitowoc), formerly a fiscally conservative Democrat. 



Assembly Veterans and Military Affairs Committee:

    Photo of Representative Spanbauer

  1. Chair:  Rep. Richard Spanbauer (R-Oshkosh)
  2. Evan Wynn (R-Whitewater)
  3. Jerry Petrowski (R-Wausau)
  4. Garey Bies (R-Sister Bay)
  5. Lee Nerison (R-Westby)
  6. Warren Petryk (R-Eleva)
  7. Ranking Member:  Nick Milroy (D-Superior)
  8. Mark Radcliffe (D-Black River Falls)
  9. Christine Sinicki (D-Milwaukee)
  10. Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville)

Senate Economic Development and Veterans and Military Affairs Committee:

    Photo of Senator Hopper

  1. Chair:  Sen. Randy Hopper (R-Fond du Lac)  *Also on Joint Finance
  2. Rich Zipperer (R-Pewaukee)
  3. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) *Also on Joint Finance
  4. Van Wanggaard (R-Racine)  **Represents Union Grove Veterans Home area
  5. Ranking Member:  Julie Lassa (D-Stevens Point)
  6. Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee) *Also on Joint Finance
  7. Tim Cullen (D-Janesville)



Senate Joint Finance Committee Members

    Photo of Senator Darling

  1. Co-ChairSen. Alberta Darling  (R-River Hills)
  2. Vice Chair: Luther Olsen (R-Ripon)  **Represents King Veterans Home area
  3. Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls)
  4. Joe Leibham (R-Sheboygan)
  5. Glenn Grothman (R-West Bend)
  6. Randy Hopper (R-Fond du Lac)
  7. Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee)
  8. Bob Jauch (D-Poplar)

Assembly Joint Finance Committee Members

    Photo of Representative Vos

  1. Co-Chair: Rep. Robin Vos (R-Burlington)   **Represents Union Grove Veterans Home area
  2. Vice Chair: Dan Meyer (R-Eagle River) 
  3. Dan LeMahieu (R-Cascade)
  4. John Nygren (R-Marinette)
  5. Pat Strachota (R-West Bend)
  6. Joel Kleefisch (R-Oconomowoc)  ***Wife is Lt. Gov. Rebecca KIeefisch
  7. Tamara Grigsby (D-Milwaukee)
  8. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse)




Senate Leadership

    Photo of Senator Fitzgerald

  • Majority Leader: Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau)

    Photo of Senator Miller

  • Minority Leader: Sen. Mark Miller (D-Monona)
  • GOP Caucus Chair:  Sen. Dan Kapanke (R-La Crosse)
  • Democrat Caucus Chair:  Julie Lassa (D-Stevens Point)  ****Also on Senate veterans’ affairs cmte.

Assembly Leadership

    Photo of Representative Fitzgerald

  • Speaker: Rep. Jeff Fitzgerald (R-Horicon)
  • Majority Leader:  Rep. Scott Suder (R-Abbotsford)

    Photo of Representative Barca

  • Minority Leader: Rep. Peter Barca (D-Kenosha)
  • GOP Caucus Chair: Vacant after Rep. Scott Gunderson (R-Waterford) appointed to
  • Democrat Caucus Chair:  Rep. Kelda Helen Roys (D-Madison)



1 comment:

  1. Gee, it's too bad that the WDVA hasn't the experience or initiative to provide this type of politiacal advisement and insight.

    Of course, simply look at the knuckleheads that are supposedly 'responsible' for such information dissemination and the answer speaks for itself.