Thursday, June 2, 2011

Board of Veterans Affairs Appointments: What’s Next?


Governor Scott Walker’s three most recent appointments to the Board of Veterans Affairs make it appear that he is already be adhering to the requirements for Board appointments by Congressional District (with one at-large member) proposed under AB 96/SB 97.

The political appointee Board members still serving who were appointed by former Governor Jim Doyle include:

  • Dan Naylor, Waupaca, Wis. (8th Congressional District – Rep. Ribble) Term expires May 1st, 2013.
  • Marv Freedman, Middleton, Wis. (2nd Congressional District – Rep. Baldwin) Term expires May 1st, 2015.
  • Peter Moran, Superior, Wis. (7th Congressional District – Rep. Duffy) Term expires May 1st, 2015.

If AB 96/SB 97 is enacted, the Governor’s remaining three political appointees to the Board of Veterans Affairs would therefore likely come from the following areas of the state:

  • 3rd Congressional District (Rep. Kind): Western Wisconsin south to the Illinois border. Counties of: St. Croix, Dunn, Pierce, Pepin, Eau Claire, Clark, Buffalo, Trempeleau, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Juneau, Vernon, Richland, parts of Sauk, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette.
  • 4th Congressional District (Rep. Moore): Metro Milwaukee.  Cities of:  City of Milwaukee, West Milwaukee, St. Francis, Cudahy, South Milwaukee.
  • 6th Congressional District (Rep. Petri): Fox Valley westward. Counties of: Winnebago, Fond du Lac, Calumet, Manitowoc, Sheboygan, Dodge, Adams, Waushara, Marquette, Green Lake.


--Anthony Hardie, Madison, Wis.

      No comments:

      Post a Comment